in my time of need
2006-02-28, 1:06 a.m.

one of the most powerful songs i have ever heard is ryan adams' "in my time of need." i did not hear it untill last week. it was actually the first time i have ever even listened to ryan adams. the music itself is pretty good, but the lyrics themselves are like none that i have ever heard. some of them say:

will you say to me "a little rains gonna come"
when the sky can�t offer none to me
cause i will come for you
when my days are through

lord we married young, and stayed where we came from
and gave those children everything we had
will you stay with me in my time of need
though it seems we had such little time for us


it's given me a feeling i forgot even existed. i tend to find myself listening to a lot of songs about heartbreak and lost love. but this song, while having similiar charactaristcs to those, gives me a complete hope in love, and that even when in the worst times, all will be well.

and isn't that what we all want? to know all is well? and that even in our deepest despair that all will be okay eventually? but life is often not this simple. it is easy to say "i will have have problems in life and love, but things will turn out okay." but when i am in those moments of desperation and hopelessness, the world collapses and nothing seems possible. but this song gives me hope that even in the hardest of times, things will be okay. and that is enough for now.

previous entry, next entry, older entries, leave me a sad or funny note here, profile