trent reznor has gone the way of the buffalo according to mxpx
2004-09-21, 7:54 p.m.

how does music take us from one place to another? how is it that it can make us feel like nothing can touch us, that nothing can take us from hearing a beautiful song.

and this is not solely linked to one song, or one genre of music. all types of music affect all different people.

i am affected by rent the musical, britney spears, nine inch nails, dashboard confessional, joanna newsom. all evoke from me the same sense that for at least 3 minutes i am understood as a person, if only by myself, and that i do not have to do anything about it.

music also comforts me when i'm depressed. that nine inch nails song 'hurt' is possibly the most beautiful song i have ever heard, but it is rather down and depressing.

you could have it all, my empire of dirt

i will let you down

i will make you hurt

these are not uplifting words. they are downers but somehow they give me a sense of purpose that allows me to feel invincible.

me and chris talked about trent reznor and how its as if he is trying to be optimistic, to be good, but knows that he cant, or knows that he is unable to, or simmply doesn't want to. you can hear it very much in this song. at times it is so hopeful, and at times it is utter despair.

i will let you down, i will make you hurt.

previous entry, next entry, older entries, leave me a sad or funny note here, profile