provo
2006-01-13, 10:50 a.m.

living in provo has made me, i feel, ignorant and close-minded about a lot of the things. i don't think i am rascist, but living in a place where seeing one black person a week is rare makes it harder for me to be loving and accepting towards ethnic people. or when i only really know one gay person, it makes it harder for me to be more loving and accepting of gay people. i am not saying that i am hateful or close-minded towards minorites or gay people, i'm not. and i am not saying i don't want to be more open and accepting, i very much want to be. i am just saying that it is hard to live in a conservative town where the majority of people are not how the majority of the world is. not even close. i love provo, but to me this is the one major drawback i have found while living here. so i am excited for the day where i live in a city that is full of different people, of different lifestyles and backgrounds. a place where i will see and experience things that will hopefully help me to be a better person.

previous entry, next entry, older entries, leave me a sad or funny note here, profile