mountan goats part 2
2006-06-12, 3:42 a.m.

i know i just wrote about the mountain goats, and how much i enjoy him, but i thought to inform those who would be interested in hearing him (who haven't) that they should listen to "all hail west texas." this is the first album of his that i heard, and the memory of hearing it is still seared into my mind (oh how joyous and painful are the memories that i carry). to me, it is one of greatest albums that has ever been recorded. all the songs are so beautiful and solid, and make me want to simultaneously slit my wrists and transcend to heaven for how unbelievable they are. i also feel this is a good starting point for anybody who is not familiar with his music to become acquainted with his style of writing. it has my favorite song ever on it, "the mess inside." when i heard this song for the first time, i found out what it was, went home, downloaded it, and listened to it on repeat for hours and hours while i layed in bed crying. it is that good.

he (the mountain man) also writes a really good blog here.

previous entry, next entry, older entries, leave me a sad or funny note here, profile