the world cup
2006-06-16, 4:21 p.m.

sometimes it is so hard for me to watch the world cup, if being that i feel no alliance to one of the teams in action. even if i do, i still want both of them to win, because i know how devastating losing would be to a country. having lived in a place where soccer is king (guatemala), i have seen the impact that winning and losing plays on a country. and so when i am watching a match, even if i am rooting for one team, i am secretly rooting for the other.

for example, today mexico played angola. my natural reaction was to cheer for mexico, since they are a latin country, and i feel more affinity towards that culture. but learning that angola had just come out of a 27 year old civil war, and that it was their first time to have qualified for the world cup, i could not help but to hope for their win. i thought "if they win, the people at home who had suffered so much over the past few decades, will be happy and unified."

i guess the lord knew my heart, because they tied, which allowed me to feel good for both teams. the lord knew my heart!

previous entry, next entry, older entries, leave me a sad or funny note here, profile